Most car parking throughout the district is free and not subject to time limits. However time limits do apply in the central business district's (CBD's) of Hawera and Eltham. The district Parking Officer patrols the parking areas of all townships in South Taranaki.  The Parking Officer is responsible for making sure that people do not abuse the restricted time limit parking and that vehicles are safe (i.e. they have an up to date Warrant of Fitness, Registration, good tyres etc)

Free Public Car Parking

In Hawera there are 4 free public carparks with no time limits. These are situated on Albion Street opposite the Information Centre, Princes Street outside the front entrance to the council offices, Napier Street and Little Regent Street opposite the Catholic Church.

Motorcycle/disability parks

Motorcycle parks in Hawera are located in Victoria Street, outside Morriesons Cafe and Restaurant, High Street outside Robertsons Pharmacy , and Princes Street, outside White Hart Hotel, ANZ Bank, Harris Taylor Accountants and Westpac Bank.

Disabilty parks in Hawera are located on High Street by the library, Robertsons Pharmacy, Off the Cuff and Pizza Hut. There is also a park on Union Street by Paperplus, and one on Regent Street outside the Gelato Cafe. Eltham has a disability park situated in Bridge Street East. These parks all have a 2 hour time limit on them.

Vehicle Safety and Compliance

The District Parking Officer has the authority to fine vehicle owners whose vehicles are unsafe (e.g. bald tyres) or do not have up-to-date Warrant of Fitness or vehicle registration.  

Paying Fines

You can see a list of the current charges here

There are a number of ways to pay fines. You can mail, Online Banking, or come in person to any one of our 8 locations throughout the district. See below for more details.


Please post your cheque to the address below and make sure you have enclosed your remittance advice so you get your receipt.

South Taranaki District Council

Private Bag 902

Hawera 4640


If you have the option, Online Banking is one of the easiest ways to pay fines. By using your own bank’s online services you should be able to select or set up the Council as a payee to make payments.  Using your banks own online service allows you to pay for a number of things like Dog Registrations, Rates, Water Rates, Building & Resource Consents.

Please make sure you clearly identify exactly what it is you are paying and remember to use your property number when putting in your payment details, so we can receipt you correctly.

Also note; if you shift properties your property number will need to be changed.


You can pay fines over the phone by simply giving us your credit card details. Call the Council on (06) 278 0555 or 0800 111 323. The Council only accepts Mastercard and Visa.


Fines can be paid in person at the following locations across the district:

  • Contact Centre – Hawera Administration Building – Albion Street

  • Hawera LibraryPlus – High Street

  • Manaia LibraryPlus – South Road

  • Opunake LibraryPlus – Tasman Street

  • Kaponga LibraryPlus – Victoria Street

  • Eltham LibraryPlus – High Street

  • Patea LibraryPlus – Egmont Street

  • Waverley LibraryPlus – Weraroa Road

 Payment can be made by cash, cheque, EFTPOS or creditcard.