Town Centre Upgrades

Town Centre Upgrades

Following similar planning work done on the Hawera town centre, the Council is embarking on a process to develop town centre masterplans for Eltham, Opunake, Manaia, Patea and Waverley. The masterplans will look at things like movement in and around the CBDs (pedestrians, cycles and vehicles), sustainable design and the relationship of adjoining developments.

The aim is to have the town masterplans prepared in draft form around September this year.

South Taranaki Mayor Ross Dunlop says the town centre masterplan work is part of the Council’s vision to make South Taranaki the most liveable District in New Zealand.

“We know we can’t afford to do everything at once, but by making these masterplans we can start looking at ways of budgeting for and realising the communities’ needs over time.”

Mayor Dunlop says the master planning project demonstrates Council’s ongoing commitment to the district’s smaller towns.

“Where the trend has been for other agencies to pull out of our small towns (like post offices, banks and government agencies), the Council has made a deliberate commitment to maintaining facilities such as libraryplus centres, swimming pools, parks and other recreation infrastructure in our small towns. This is what makes South Taranaki so unique,” he says.

Town Centre Masterplans Update

Monday 4 November 2019

Over the period of May to September 2019, five masterplans were developed for the town centres in Patea, Waverley, Manaia, Opunake and Eltham in consultation with the communities.

This was a key project in the 2018-28 Long Term Plan (LTP) with funding initially spread over the first five years of the LTP. However, Council subsequently approved that this funding be brought forward to the first two years so that all five masterplans could be developed at the same time.

These were adopted by the Council at an October 2019 meeting and implementation of the plans will be considered as part of the 2021-31 Long Term Plan.

To download the Town Centre Masterplans click on the links below:

Opunake (13MB)

Eltham (11MB)

Manaia (9MB)

Patea (16MB)

Waverley (9MB)