Taranaki's Art Extravaganza Winners 2012

Taranaki's Art Extravaganza Winners 2012

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Opunake’s Taranaki National Art Awards opened last Friday evening and winners for this year were announced.  In its eleventh year, the annual awards are a national competition offering an opportunity for artists to exhibit and sell their artwork, with the added bonus of a $12,000 prize pool.

Judges Professor Robert Jahnke and Ruth Harvey awarded this years prizes to:

TSB Community Trust Painting Award ($2000) Anne Holliday - Leo Dying - New Plymouth
TSB Community Trust Highly Commended ($500) Andre Bronnimann – Hemi - Whanganui

Fred & Eunice Rodie Charitable Trust Rural Taranaki Award ($2000) Jasmine Middlebrook – The Unfaithful Shepherd – New Plymouth
Fred & Eunice Rodie Charitable Trust Highly Commended ($500) Laurel Davis – Gumboots in a Southerly Gale - New Plymouth

Shell Todd Oil Services Ltd 3D Award ($1000) Dr Kathryn Wightman – Curious - Whanganui
Shell Todd Oil Services Ltd Highly Commended ($500) Remo Roger Morris – Little Bird of War - Oeo

Gibson Plumbing/Corkill Systems/Sinclair Electrical Works on Paper Award ($1000) Margaret Silverwood – Womb Chair - Whanganui
Farmlands Highly Commended ($500) Rodolfo Banaticla Jr – Back in Black - Auckland

Opunake Businesses  Fibre Art Award ($1000) Jacqueline Elley – Muka Moon – New Plymouth
Gail Drought Highly Commended ($250) Patricia Took-Stevens – The Travelling Salesman’s Fruit and Vege Samples - Rangiora

Tui Ora Ltd & Parininihi Ki Waitotara Trust Toi Tu Taranaki Award ($1000) Steve Molloy – Forward Focus – New Plymouth
M, J & R Collins Highly Commended ($250) Lester Ransfield – The Taranaki Warrior - Pungarehu

TSB Community Trust Photography Award ($1000) Rebecca Scott – Lost image 198618691902 - Oakura
Pastimes Highly Commended ($250) Jeff Drabble – Text De-sending – Hastings

The Taranaki National Art Awards Exhibition is on display 10am-4pm daily, from 27 October – 3 November 2012 at Sandford Events Centre, Opunake.  Entry is $2.