Ronald Hugh Morrieson Terms and Conditions 2015

Ronald Hugh Morrieson Terms and Conditions 2015

Terms and conditions for the Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Awards.

These terms and conditions apply to the following categories:

Secondary Short Story/Drama Script

Secondary SchoolPoetry

Open Short Story/DramaScript

Open Poetry

1.The competition opens on 21 May 2015 and closes at 11.59pm (NZ time) on 31 July 2015. No entries will be accepted prior to the opening date or after the closing date.

2.Entrants in the Secondary School section must have parents/guardians who are residents or ratepayers of the South Taranaki District. The entrants must be attending a secondary school or be home schooled at a secondary school level.

3.Entrants in the Open section must be over 13 years of age and must be residents or ratepayers of the wider Taranaki region.

4.The entries should reflect aspects of present day life in the local area or a revealing character description of a local person rather than science fiction, futuristic or foreign settings.

5.Entries must be a word document in Arial 12 font and must be uploaded with your entry form. (You will be prompted to do this when filling out your online entry form.) The work must be titled and your name must not appear on the work.

6.All entries must be the original work of the entrant alone and must not have appeared in any publication.

7.Teachers may advise a student on their work in the initial stages, however, the final entry piece must not be edited by a teacher.

8.Entries must not have been entered into any other competition until after the presentation date of the Awards.

9.The maximum length for short story/script entries is 2,000 words. The maximum length for poetry is 50 lines.

10.Entrants may submit a maximum of five entries in each section.

11.Entries must not contain any photographs or illustrations and no covers are required.

12.Poems may be rhymed or unrhymed and may take any poetic form.

13.Once an entry is submitted, the manuscript is final. The entry cannot be withdrawn and no alternations can be made to it.

14.The South Taranaki District Council (STDC) takes no responsibility for entries.

15.All entries will receive an acknowledgement of their entry by email.

16.Manuscripts will not be returned to the entrants.

17.The prizes for every category are:

$500– 1st Place

$300– 2nd Place

$200– 3rd Place

19.STDC will endeavour to arrange first publication and/or broadcast of the winning manuscripts.

20. All entries submitted remain the property of the entrant. However STDC reserves the right to publish the winning entries without fee. A selection of manuscripts (other than the winner) may be chosen for publication (without fee) after the presentation of the Awards.

21. All finalists will be advised a week prior to the Awards ceremony and invited to attend the announcement of the winners.

22.Winners of the Awards will be announced on the STDC website the week following the presentation of the Awards.

23.Winners’ names, entry details, biographical information and photographs will be required by STDC for promotional purposes.

24. The judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

25. All entries will be universally formatted to fit our chosen template for publication. Finalists will be given the opportunity to correct spelling mistakes and grammar prior to publication.