2018 Sporting Hall of Fame nominations open

2018 Sporting Hall of Fame nominations open

Monday, July 09, 2018

We’re on the lookout for two of the district’s elite to join the TSB Hub's Sporting Hall of Fame inaugural inductees Adine Wilson, James Hunter and Roger Cox.

You have until the beginning of August to get in your nominations.

"There has been a wealth of sporting talent that has come from South Taranaki. The two 2018 inductees will join the original three that were inducted last year," says Community Facilities Team Leader, Tarin Hunt. "Due to the large number of elite sportspeople that come from South Taranaki, the criteria for inductees has been set high."

A nominee must satisfy at least one of the following criteria to be considered for the Hall of Fame.

The criteria are;

1. Achieved international success by winning Gold, Silver or Bronze (podium finish) at either the Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship or an officially approved elite level international event; or

2. Been a senior athlete or a significant contributor of a national representative team at an elite international level; or

3. Made a significant contribution and distinguished service to elite sport which has brought credit to South Taranaki.

As well as satisfying these criteria, inductees must have a strong association to South Taranaki and have spent a significant period of their life living in the district.

"Nominations don’t roll over from year to year, so anyone who wasn’t chosen last year is eligible to be nominated for the 2018 round of inductions," says Mrs Hunt.

The Sporting Hall of Fame is a partnership between the Hawera Rotary Club - the main funders, and the South Taranaki District Council.

Mrs Hunt says the committee (made up of Mayor Ross Dunlop, Councillor Jack Rangawahia, Rotary club members Selwyn Metcalfe, Malcolm Greenhill, and community representative Lionel Shaw) were very pleased with the number of nominations which were received last year and look forward to just as many this time around.

Nominations close on 4 August 2018.

For more information contact Tarin Hunt on 0800 111 323 or email tarin.hunt@stdc.govt.nz.