2019 Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Award winners announced

2019 Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Award winners announced

Tuesday, October 01, 2019

The wait is over! Finalists for the 2019 Ronald Hugh Morrieson Writing Awards, Taranaki’s premiere literary competition, have been announced.

There are five categories in the Awards; The Secondary School Poetry and Short Story categories, the Open section Poetry and Short Story categories and the Secondary School Research Article category.

Short Story judge, Dame Fiona Kidman, says the stories had good qualities and she loved themes of the natural world ‘which ran like a melody throughout the entries.’

“A few startlingly good ones hurtled their way into my ‘yes’ pile as soon as I read them.“

Poetry judge, James Brown, says the poems that impressed him most displayed a control of language and found something extraordinary in the everyday.

"It was heartening to see some grappling with our difficult legacy of colonisation." 

Change dominated this year’s research article entries. In particular, the need to change how humans interact with their environment,“ according to Research Article Judge Matt Rilkoff. He said the articles acknowledged the need for us to take responsibility for our future and in that awareness there was great hope.

Congratulations to the following people who have been selected as finalists in the Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Awards 2019.

Alyx Devlin - Eltham
Ben Smythe - Hawera High School
Bruce Finer - Hawera
Emma Hughes - Taranaki Diocesan
Ethan Griffiths - Spotswood College
James O'Sullivan - New Plymouth
Janine Mullin - Waitara  

Kaylen Hojdelewicz - Taranaki Diocesan

Ken Crawford - Waitara
Maddison Cossey - Hawera High School
Madeline Symes - Opunake High School
Maria Cunningham - New Plymouth
Melissa Browne - Oakura
Michaela Stoneman - Patea
Mikaela Nyman - New Plymouth
Nell Brown - Sacred Heart Girls' College
Pip Harrison - Hawera
Sam Landers - Hawera High School
Sasha Finer - Hawera High School

The public are invited to attend the Awards Ceremony 7pm, Thursday October 31 at the Hawera Community Centre Lounge, Albion Street where the winners will be announced and the winning stories are read aloud. Drinks and nibbles will be served at the conclusion of the evening.

Please RSVP by Monday 28 October with numbers attending the Awards’ evening, to 0800 111 323 or contact@stdc.govt.nz

Additional information:

The Awards, sponsored by the Lysaght Watt Trust, honour the work of one of New Zealand’s most preeminent authors, Ronald Hugh Morrieson (1922 – 1972). Morrieson wrote four novels: a coming of age tale The Scarecrow (1963), Came a Hot Friday (1964), Predicament (published in 1975) and his only contemporary novel Pallet on the Floor (1976). All have been adapted for the cinema, the only New Zealand writer to have acquired this achievement. Two short stories were published posthumously, in 1974; Cross My Heart and Cut My Throat and The Chimney.

Further information about the Judges can be found here: http://www.rhmorriesonawards.com/the-judges.html