Candidates take a stand for 2019 Local Body Elections

Candidates take a stand for 2019 Local Body Elections

Thursday, August 22, 2019

The contest to replace South Taranaki Mayor, Ross Dunlop, at the upcoming local body elections will be between three candidates.

Craig Baylis, Clem Coxhead and Phil Nixon are all vying for the vacancy left by Mayor Dunlop who is retiring after 12 years in the job.

All up, 48 candidates are standing for 29 district council and community board positions.

The positions up for election are; Mayor (1 vacancy), Councillor (12 vacancies) and Community Board (16 vacancies) – spread across four Wards; Taranaki Coastal, Eltham Kaponga, Te Hāwera and Pātea.

South Taranaki District Council chief executive Waid Crockett was pleased with the number of candidates standing for election.

“Our democratic system relies on people being prepared to step up and be counted, so it’s very heartening to see so many take up the challenge,” says Mr Crockett.

“The next challenge is now getting people to vote. Local Government plays such an important part of peoples daily lives. From the water we drink, to the roads we travel on, the facilities we enjoy to the waste we dispose and recycle. With almost $1 billion in assets and an annual operating budget of $64 million it’s important that voters have their say on the people managing our resources and making the big decision about the future of our district,” he says.

One group who won’t need to be worried about election day results are the four Pātea Community Board candidates.

“With only four candidates standing for four positions Jacq Dwyer, Maria Ferris, Dianne Lance and Joanne Peacock are automatically elected unopposed,” says Mr Crockett. “All other positions are contested.”

You can see the full list of candidates here

Key Election Dates

Friday 20 September - Wednesday 25 September

Delivery of voting documents

Saturday 12 October

Election Day (close of voting 12noon). Progress and preliminary results available as soon as practicable after close of voting

Saturday 12 October - Wednesday 23 October

Official count

Thursday 17 October - Wednesday 23 October

Declaration of result