Citizens recognized for Community Contribution

Citizens recognized for Community Contribution

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Last Wednesday (12 September) the Council held its biennial Community Awards ceremony at the Memorial Theatre in Hawera.

The Awards, presented by Mayor Ross Dunlop and the Community Board chairs, are held to recognise the individuals and organisations in South Taranaki who, through their personal leadership, inspiration and devotion make a significant contribution to the well being of their communities.

In opening the evening Mr Dunlop said one of the best things about being Mayor was the opportunity it gave him to meet so many citizens who are involved in doing good things for the community.

“This is a caring community and I am always astounded by the many, many residents throughout our district that everyday are voluntarily helping in some way. It really is inspiring,” he says.

And the statistics for the South Taranaki District confirm this. A survey of South Taranaki showed that 26% of our residents are involved in voluntary and community work. This compares with a national average of 11%.  “I’m very proud to be a Mayor of a district that has so many community minded citizens,” says Mr Dunlop.

This year the Community Awards were presented to:

From Egmont Plains: Individual Volunteers - John Hosie, Ann Hickey, Lorna Katene, Josie Hinewaito Bigham and Matt Lash; Achiever – Tom Gibson, Initiative Community and Environment – Barbara Williams; and Volunteer Organisation – Opunake Board Riders Club.

Hawera:Individual Volunteers - William Rumney, Bev Phillips, Jenny Kerrisk; Initiative Community and Environment – Ngairie and Gary Olsen; and Volunteer Organisation – Altrusa Hawera.

Eltham: Individual Volunteers – Judith Rogers and Olwyn Duthie; Initiative Community and Environment – Eltham Community Action Group.

Patea:Individual Volunteers – Grant Hurley, Gloria Tui, Dianne Frewin; Achiever – Peter Crawford; Volunteer Organisation – Patea Fire Brigade.