New Regional Rural Fire Authority Launched

New Regional Rural Fire Authority Launched

Monday, July 01, 2013

The new Taranaki Rural Fire Authority (TRFA) was officially launched today in Hawera by the Chairman of the NZ Fire Service Commission, the Rt Hon. Wyatt Creech and is the 10thenlarged rural fire district to come into being in New Zealand.

The new authority is a joint entity created between the three Taranaki Council’s and the Department of Conservation (DoC) and incorporates the existing four rural fire districts into one regional area.

TRFA Chair, Craig Stevenson, says the new entity will provide a more efficient and effective means of combating rural fires in the region.

“The new rural fire authority provides for unified governance with clear leadership, strategic direction and business planning which in turn will result in more coordinated response procedures across Taranaki,” says Mr Stevenson.

“There are also a number of efficiencies administratively, such as one fire plan, one training plan and one permit system. Overall, we expect that rural fire preparedness and public awareness will improve, which will result in better service delivery,” he says.

Nigel Dravitzki is the TRFA’s Principal Rural Fire Officer/General Manager. Based in Hawera at the South Taranaki District Council’s (STDC) main office, Mr Dravitzki is responsible for the overall management of the business activities, finances and projects of the Fire Authority as directed by the TRFA Committee.

The TRFA Committee includes representation from DoC, NZ Fire Service, NZ Forest Owners Association, one person from the New Plymouth, Stratford and South Taranaki District Councils, and one independent director.

Mr Stevenson, who is also the Chief Executive of the South Taranaki District Council, says the new TRFA is another great example of how the regions Local Government Authorities work together for the benefit of all Taranaki residents.