Record Entries for Awards 30th Anniversary

Record Entries for Awards 30th Anniversary

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Entries have closed and a record number have been received for the Ronald Hugh Morrieson Writing Awards Taranaki’s premiere literary competition.

South Taranaki District Council (STDC) Libraries and Cultural Services Manager, Cath Sheard says a bumper 237 entries were received across five categories.

“This is our highest number of entries yet and is so appropriate given we are celebrating the Award’s 30th anniversary,” says Cath.

“When the awards first started, only secondary school students in South Taranaki could enter, whereas today the competition is open to anyone throughout Taranaki. This year seven High Schools participated and half of the entries are from outside South Taranaki,” she says.

“A number of entries in the open section were also from past secondary school participants returning to enter the competition as adults,” says Cath. “It’s fantastic seeing our young writers continuing to develop their literary skills as adults,” says Cath.

There are five categories in the Awards; The Secondary School Poetry and Short Story categories, the Open section Poetry and Short Story categories and the Secondary School Research Article category – the winner of which receives a one year subscription to the Taranaki Daily News and $500.

Entries are now being reviewed by the Judges; Matt Rilkoff (Research Article), Apirana Taylor (Poetry) and Rachel Stedman (Short Story/Drama Script).

Finalists will be announced on 20 September followed by the Awards ceremony which is being held on 25 October at the TSB Hub in Hawera.

Additional information:

The Awards, sponsored by the Lysaght Watt Trust, honour the work of one of New Zealand’s most preeminent authors, Ronald Hugh Morrieson (1922 – 1972). Morrieson wrote four novels: a coming of age tale The Scarecrow (1963), Came a Hot Friday (1964), Predicament (published in 1975) and his only contemporary novel Pallet on the Floor (1976). All have been adapted for the cinema, the only New Zealand writer to have acquired this achievement. Two short stories were published posthumously, in 1974; Cross My Heart and Cut My Throat and The Chimney.

Further information about the Judges can be found here: