Taranaki National Art Awards - Winners

Taranaki National Art Awards - Winners

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

The 13thannual Taranaki National Art Awards was held at Sandfords Events Centre, Opunake on Friday 31 October 2014. 

Opened by South Taranaki Mayor, Ross Dunlop, the awards attracted over 160 entries in 7 categories from all over New Zealand.  Judges this year were Helen Telford from Govett Brewster Art Gallery in New Plymouth and Greg Donson from the Sarjeant Gallery in Whanganui.  The sponsored awards distribution totalled over $15,000 this year and over 150 people attended the opening ceremony. Coinciding with the Taranaki Garden Spectacular the awards exhibition was on display daily until 8 November 2014 and attracted over 1000 visitors. Seven of the winners were from Taranaki and a record number of 21 artworks were sold – a fantastic result and a notable achievement for the committee, successfully running a national arts event in South Taranaki.   

Huge thanks to all of our sponsors, volunteers and the Opunake community.


Award winners for 2014 are:

2014 Painting Award

2014 TSB Community Trust Highly Commended Award:  

Tammie Riddle – Palmerston North: Fragile Waters

2014 TSB Community Trust Painting Award Winner: 

Michael Barker – Te Aroha: Towards the Shire


2014 Rural Taranaki Award

2014 Corkill Systems and Pastimes Highly Commended Award:  

Aithnia Batchelor – Urenui: Uruti Church

2014 Fred & Eunice Rodie Charitable Trust Rural Taranaki Award Winner:  

John MacDonald – New Plymouth: Beyond Whangamomona


2014 3D Award

2014 Headlands Highly Commended Award: 

Beck White – Patea: The Phalanges

2014 Shell Todd Oil Services Ltd 3D Award Winner: 

Mark Hudson – Okato: Bond


2014 Works on Paper Award

2014 Opunake Businesses Highly Commended Award: 

Rodolfo Banaticla JnrAuckland:Ghost              

2014 TSB Community Trust Works on Paper Award Winner: 

Claudia Recorean – Seddonville: Not Pacman


2014 Fibre Art Award

2014 Sinclair Electrical & Refrigeration and Viv Scott Highly Commended Award

Frances Rookes – New Plymouth:  Time to get Weaving 

2014 Fred & Eunice Rodie Charitable Trust Fibre Art Award Winner: 

Karina Davies – Waiuku: Resurrected Garden


2014 Toi Tu TaranakiAward

2014 Gibson Plumbers Ltd and Coastal Veterinary Group Highly Commended Award: 

Leonie SharpWhanganui: Te Maunga

2014 Parininihi Ki Waitotara Trust and Fred & Eunice Rodie Trust Toi Tu Taranaki Award Winner:  

Karen Danes – Hastings: River Lights


2014 Photography Award

2014 TSB Community Trust Highly Commended Award

Pip GuthrieNew Plymouth:Number One

2014 Fish, Chips & More and TSB Community Trust Photography Award Winner: 

Amy TauntStratford:Gabby


2014 Committee choice Award Winner :  

Jilly Hare – Maxwell