Write Bravely - and act now!

Write Bravely - and act now!

Wednesday, August 08, 2018

"Even if you write all night… I want to read what you have to tell me."

Mary-anne Scott, one of the judge’s for the 2018 Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Awards, is urging all aspiring authors and poets to "write bravely" and get your entries in before the Wednesday 15 August closing date.

The Ronald Hugh Morrieson Literary Awards honour the work of one of New Zealand’s most preeminent authors, Ronald Hugh Morrieson (1922 – 1972), and have been an annual staple in the literary events calendar since its inception in 1987.

There are five categories in the Awards;

  • Secondary School Short Story/Drama Script
  • Secondary School Poetry
  • Secondary School Research Article
  • Open Section Short Story/Drama Script
  • Open Section Poetry

Cash prizes are up for grabs, with the winner of each category winning $500 (as well as a year-long subscription to the Daily News for the winner of the Research Article category) and the opportunity to see their work published in the finalist book.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on 24 October at the Hāwera LibraryPlus.

Find out more and enter online at www.rhmorriesonawards.com – you have until Wednesday 15 August to get your entries in.

The Awards are proudly brought to you by the South Taranaki District Council and are sponsored by Lysaght-Watt Trust, Normanby & District Lions Club and the Taranaki Daily News.