2009 Choice Youth Awards

2009 Choice Youth Awards

The 2009 Choice Youth Awards are awards designed by the district’s youth group SouthTRU, to honour those who volunteer their time to benefit their local communities.

Six young people  were  recently awarded Choice Awards. These were:

  • Catherine Irving
  • Ramari Katenerei
  • Hui Brown
  • Donald Robertson
  • Thomas Padrutt
  • Neihana Tapiki

Their prize was a day of paintball and fun activities at Rahotu Domain. The SouthTru youth reps opted for the award format to focus on community contribution and doing something for others rather than academic or sporting achievements.

SouthTRU representative Venice Robertson says “This was an awesome way to show young people that their efforts in the community are appreciated.  Just by being nominated makes you feel like you should keep being choice!”

Click here to find out more about the SouthTRU Choice Awards.

The next SouthTRU group will decide whether these will go ahead again next year.