2019 Youth to Work Nominations Open

2019 Youth to Work Nominations Open

Monday, May 20, 2019

Nominations are now being sought for the 2019 South Taranaki Youth to Work Awards, a project of the South Taranaki Mayor’s Taskforce for Jobs.

Event organiser, South Taranaki District Council’s Community Development Advisor Ella Borrows, says this is the sixth year of the awards and nominations are encouraged from across the employment, education and training provider sectors.“Nominating (or being nominated) is easy, and is a chance for our communities, business and families to celebrate the positive things our young people are achieving and doing”.

We want to hear about people aged 16-24 who are achieving their potential and beyond, in the workplace, education or training environment,” says Ella.“We also want to celebrate businesses, education and training providers who are providing a supportive environment and opportunities for our young people to thrive right here in South Taranaki”.

There are five categories this year and they are:

  • Employer Award
  • Education, Training and Work Experience Providers Award
  • Learning to Employment Award
  • Te Pae Tawhiti Award (for people aged between 14-24)
  • Young Achiever’s Award
    • Aged 16-19 years, and
    • Aged 20-24 years.

The closing date for nominations is:

  • Hard copy – 5 pm, Friday 14 June 2019 at the South Taranaki District Council Office, Albion Street in Hāwera or at any South Taranaki LibraryPlus;
  • Online – by midnight, Sunday 16 June 2019 by clicking here.

The celebration evening will be held at TSB Hub on Thursday 29 August 2019 from 5.30pm for a 6pm start.

“We are extremely grateful to WITT, our event sponsor and enthusiastic supporter of our MTFJ events.Community events like these can’t take place without the support of many and along with WITT, we have Parininihi Ki Waitotara, Silver Fern Farms, Feats, Obertech Group, Farm Source Taranaki, Brendan Agriculture Ltd, and our four Taranaki iwi (Te Runanga o Ngāti Ruanui, Te Korowai o Ngāruahine, Te Kaahui o Rauru and Te Kahui o Taranaki) Ella said.

Outward Bound has once again supported MTFJ by providing 21-day scholarships for each winner of the two Young Achievers, Learning to Employment and Te Pae Tawhiti Awards.

Click here to find out more and to make your online nominations. You can also pick up a form from your local LibraryPlus centre, or the Contact Centre and the Council office on Albion Street.Contact Ella Borrows on 0800 111 323 or email CDUnit@stdc.govt.nz if you have any further enquiries.