# uia Taitonga,

He karere tā te Kaunihera ō Taranaki ki te Tonga News from the South Taranaki District Council



## **Preliminary Local Election Results**

Thank you to everyone who voted in the 2022 Local Body Elections and congratulations to all candidates who put their names forward.

Please find the preliminary results below, final results will be available 5pm, Thursday 13 October on our website www.southtaranaki.com/vote2022

Mayor (1 Vacancy)		
Phil Nixon	6333	
Walter Charles Smith	699	
Te Kūrae Māori Ward (1 Vacancy)		
Leanne Kuraroa Horo	179	
Caroline Waiwiri	87	
Te Tai Tonga Māori Ward (1 Vacancy)		
Tuteri Dal Rangihaeata	194	
Glen Katu	158	

#### Taranaki Coastal Community Board (4 Vacancies)

Andy Whitehead	1057
Liz Sinclair	996
Sharlee Mareikura	836
Monica Iri Willson	714
Tazmyn Katene-Ashford	504

#### Te Hāwera Community Board (4 Vacancies)

Celine Filbee*	2019
Nikki Watson	1810
Andrew Blanche	1809
Heather Brokenshire	1667
Raymond Buckland	1472
Ricardo Pintor	1119
Russell Hockley	965
Glenn Charles Anderson	934
Desiree Bond	924

#### Pātea Community Board

(4 Vacancies)	
Jacq Dwyer	945
Cheryl Rook	630
Joanne Peacock	505
Owen Savage	491
Bronwyn Wattrus	488
Ngapari Nui	347
Michael Kanara	128

**Eltham-Kaponga Community Board** (4 Vacancies)

(+ vacancies)	
Karen Cave	706
Sonya Douds	677
Alan Hawkes	635
Lindsay Craig Maindonald	529
Carol Van Kerkhoff	355
Hemi Haddon	164

#### **Upcoming Meeting** Inaugural Council – Swearing in

State of the second sec

South Tarana District Counci

Ceremony Wednesday 26 October, 2.30pm Kānihi Māwhitiwhiti Pā 240 Hastings Road, Ōkaiawa

All are welcome. If you wish to attend please ring 0800 111 323 or email agendas@stdc.govt.nz.

#### **Councillors Elected** Unopposed

**Eltham-Kaponga General Ward** Mark Bellringer, Steffy Mackay

**Pātea General Ward** Robert Northcott, Brian Rook

Taranaki Coastal General Ward Aarun Langton, Bryan Roach

Te Hāwera General Ward Andy Beccard, Celine Filbee, Te Aroha Hohaia, Diana Reid.

\*As Celine Filbee was elected unopposed onto the Council (Te Hāwera Ward), Raymond Buckland takes the fourth spot on Te Hāwera Community Board as the next highest polling candidate.

### **READ and win at your local LibraryPlus next week!**



Read Books – Win Prizes!

All you need is a LibraryPlus membership to be in to win some awesome prizes at your local LibraryPlus next week. READ – the adult reading challenge – is starting on Monday 17 October and for five weeks, any book issued from one of our LibraryPlus centres will go in the weekly draw to win PaperPlus vouchers. You can also go into the draw to win an iPad simply by telling us what you think of the book you just read. Fill out a review card, and add a star rating.

South Taranaki Community Outreach Librarian, Layne Winiata, says this is an exciting opportunity to re-ignite the reading habits of the South Taranaki public.

"We've seen a decrease in the number of books going off of our shelves and we miss seeing the friendly faces of our borrowers," she says. "It's exciting that we're able to do this and hopefully motivate some steady borrowing."

The challenge has been designed to engage readers, promote the physical collections the libraries hold and help to motivate continued steady borrowing from regular customers.

If you are not yet a LibraryPlus member, simply head into your local centre and sign up!

Head to www.southtaranaki.com/read to find out more.

#### **Removal of Minimum Parking Requirements from the** South Taranaki District Council Operative District Plan **Public Notice**

Under section 55 of the Resource Management Act 1991 in accordance with Policy 11 and clause 3.38 of the National Policy Statement for Urban Development 2020 (NPS-UD), South Taranaki District Council gives notice of amendments to the Operative District Plan to remove all objectives, policies, rules, relevant provisions that have the effect of requiring a minimum number of car parks to be provided for any development, land use, or activity.

The parking design standards, requirement for access, and manoeuvring spaces in the District Plan are not impacted by the NPS-UD and remain applicable to new development proposals. No changes to accessibility parking requirements in accordance with the New Zealand Building Code have been made as part of the changes to parking minimums.

As required under Section 55 of the Resource Management Act 1991, these changes to the District Plan have been made without using a Schedule 1 process (the typical public submission process for plan changes). The changes to the District Plan have immediate effect.

This notice is in accordance with Section 55(2A)(b) of the Resource Management Act 1991.



www.southtaranaki.com Ph: (06) 278 0555 or 0800 111 323